Complex CD



Complex is certainly an accurate name for the articulate popstress Montaigne’s second album. Three years in the making, themes covering loneliness, isolation, distorted love narratives, the desire to escape, self-realisation, illness and fury all interact and percolate amongst themselves on Complex, and Montaigne does a spectacular job of expressing herself with eloquence, passion and impressive technical skill.

Speaking on the inspiration and work behind the album, she says, “The right songs all came together over this three year period and so each song pertains to a different period of my life. It’s basically a series of portraits of all of my insecurities, or the weird relationships I’ve been in or neurotic feelings I’ve felt while being attracted to others. The album's like this veil behind which I stashed all these secrets I was keeping from myself.”

Montaigne worked with long-time collaborator Tony Buchen on Complex, as well as several other producers some of which included, Wynne Bennett (Twin Shadow, Janelle Monae), Kyle Shearer (Dua Lipa, Broods, K. Flay), Mozella (Madonna, Miley Cyrus, One Direction), Dave Sitek (TV On The Radio, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Foals), Mario Späte (Tkay Maidza, Urthboy, Allday) and Eric J Dubowsky (Flume, St. Vincent, Chet Faker).

  • 1. CHANGE
  • 2. Complex
  • 3. For Your Love
  • 4. Losing My Mind
  • 5. Love Might Be Found (Volcano)
  • 6. The Dying Song
  • 7. Showyourself
  • 8. Please You
  • 9. Stockholm Syndrome
  • 10. Pleasure
  • 11. is this all I am good for?
  • 12. I am a Clown
  • 13. READY

Complex CD by Montaigne